yoga teacher training

Ashtanga Yoga: 8 Limbs of Yoga

Yoga is for everyone, at any age, really?

What was I thinking to sign up for an Ashtanga Yoga teacher training at 53? No doubt in the past five years, yoga changed my life for the better and I always wanted to deepen my practice to more than just a few hours per week. But from zero to hero, amongst a group of super strong and flexible females in their 20’s? I digress. Yet a mysterious force drove me into signing up. Days later, albeit my extensive injury history, I was accepted to the All Yoga Thailand program. I wonder if there was an error?

So the training began. I soon learned about Ashtanga Yoga. Not just Asana, that is the third of the eight limbs. There are 7 other equally important limbs. So, shall we begin with the first one? Yamas: The ethical behavior to our external world. Observing the 5 basic rules of Yamas brings out a better version of me. Take Ahimsa (Non-Violence) for example. I promote shutting down slaughterhouse. How can we ever live in peace by disrupting other forms of life? Though an ideal concept, it’s easier said than done. A more simple solution is to adopt a vegetarian lifestyle.

Next limb is Niyama. It is self-observance. By cultivating a clean body, we cultivate a calmer and clearer mind. Feeling an oncoming cold? Grab your Jala Neti (neti pot), put a small amount of sea salt and water at body temperature into it and let that run through your nostrils. Takes only a few minutes, low cost and has huge benefits!

Asana, of course, is the most well known and may have many different approaches. Nonetheless often most people take this concept completely off course. You might grab your gorgeous Lululemon gear, step on the mat and show off your most skillful postures. Have your audience, a.k.a. students, applauding and feeling really good. Wait, let’s rewind. Isn’t Asana as described in the Yoga Sutra means “comfortable posture”? Nothing wrong with some visual stimulation, but Asana is really only about ourselves. Moreover it’s about controlling of the mind and the ego. Of course, it’s not an easy task to learn a new posture. Like many others, I’m filled with joy when I can achieve a cool pose and make it my profile picture on Facebook. Nevertheless, Yoga is a lifestyle. In Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, the key element is Vinyasa or “one breath- one movement.’ The breath is the king and without it, we are merely doing yoga-like exercises.

Speaking of breath, Pranayama, is the fourth limb and means extension of life force. Pranayama is a set of breathing techniques aiming at controlling the flow of prana (life force) It’s a real miracle indeed, a nature’s way to longevity and much better than Botox!

The last three limbs are considered the “higher ones” or classified as ‘spiritual’. They are Dharana (Concentration), Dhyana (Meditation) and Samadhi (Absorption to the Universe). At this moment in my life, there is a major transformation percolating deep within me, like a caterpillar who willingly dies in order to become a butterfly.

I feel so blessed to endow this abundant knowledge. It would be egotistical to not share it with everyone. My coming of understanding to yoga beyond asana is a good reason why being a yoga teacher has no age limits. If old age does not prevent you from being foolish it could also motivate you to step on the mat everyday! After all, the beauty of teaching yoga lies within the fact that the more we give, the more we receive. It’s also only true with nothing else other than love!

About Andreas Rapp

Andreas is an All Yoga graduate from November 2014.
His background is in meditation with a decade of practice and saddhana.
He returns to Thailand regularly to deepen his meditation practice in the dark caves of Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Read More Blogs

  • How to Choose The Best Yoga Certification Course for You [2023 Guide] Yoga Teacher Training Tips

    Joining a yoga instructor certification course to become a Yoga Teacher is a big decision. It’s a huge investment, both in time and money. You might feel overwhelmed at the many choices of Yoga education schools and Yoga certification programs. Picking the right yoga course for you can seem like a daunting task. It actually take quite some preparation and more research than simply searching "yoga certification near me" in Google... Well, we’re here to help you get more prepa

    read more
    How to Prepare for Your Yoga Teacher Training [9 most important points] Yoga Teacher Training Tips

    *Please take note that the article written is based on an Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga Teacher Training* It's been 12 years (2011) since I was first introduced to yoga and I've been practicing regularly for about 5 years already. Teaching has always been a part of my family and I'm glad that I've finally received my calling in teaching yoga. Before I attended my 200 hours Yoga Teacher Training with All Yoga, I didn't know what to expect even though there were so many articles and reviews online a

    read more
    10 Red Flags To Look Out For When Choosing A Yoga Teacher Training Yoga Teacher Training Tips

    Are you dreaming of becoming a yoga teacher ? Before signing up, it’s crucial to know that a 200 Hour Yoga Teacher Training is not just a place to learn how to lead yoga classes. It should be a sacred space for you to explore your practice, deepen your understanding of yourself, and stretch into your infinite potential. Sadly, with the rising emergence of yoga teacher trainings around the world, it is difficult to decipher which are the high quality programs and which are not. Ideal

    read more
  • Want to Become a Yoga Teacher and/or
    Deepen your Yoga Practice?


    • 20 things to know before choosing a yoga teacher training
    • 7 tips to deepen your yoga practice right now
    Ashtanga Yoga Training Brochures

    Follow us on Instagram for daily stories and special offer!


    Get in Touch!

      This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.